top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAlycia Lusby

My First Art Show

The Common Grounds Coffee Festival was a roaring success. The turnout was much larger than excepted and the venue was amazing. The festival hosted many wonderful Coffee vendors including Not Your Average Joe (whose coffee is amazing by the way), Yellow Dog Coffee Company and Beanstalk Coffee and Sno. They also featured many amazing artist of various mediums. Musical talents included the too talented to be at the same event as me, Olivia Kay and many others whose names I was not savvy enough to collect.


What I actually want to talk about though, is my experience as gallery artists. As mentioned in my previous post I was lucky enough to participate as a gallery artist alongside Rene West Art, Constellocean Craft and many other incredible artist whose cards I shamefully lost. I feel like I had good first run and although I didn't sell any paintings I feel it was time well invested mainly due to a few keys things I learned while there.


Lesson One: People Liked my Weird Art


I have been, up untill now, very concerned that the things I enjoy creating are not compatible with what people enjoy buying. I was wrong. My tamed down art was almost universally ignored in favor of stranger pieces sporting three heads, creepy eyeballs and clouds for for faces. I feel strongly that there is a sense for the emotions that went into those pieces and that the viewers drawn them for that reason. In other words, make the art you enjoy creating and people will appreciate the authenticity of your work and be drawn to it.


Lesson Two: I should have bought a booth.


It would have been worth it to have a purchased a booth. I think I had done this and had prints to sell I would have likely sold out. The event was definitely structured in a way that favored the buying of smaller and less expensive pieces and it was a mistake to only bring large expensive paintings. At this kind of event people are looking to make smaller impulsive purchases and no one wants to carry a 16x20 canvas around a crowded festival filled with hot drinks and breakables.


Lesson Three: Talk to Other Artist


I don't like starting up conversations. I'm deathly afraid of small talk and have a crippling fear sticking my foot in my mouth. I think most artist are wired that way, which is why it is important to start the conversation anyways. I learned so much from the other artists there and made several friend along the way. I was also invited to participate in the Spring Fling Art Show this weekend. The discomfort of being socially awkward was definitely worth the benefits received.


Although I didn't sell any artwork, I have a better understanding of how to set up my next show and what to bring. I hope this helps anyone who is looking forward to thier first show. The Common Grounds Coffee Festival was a fundraising event for the Cleveland County Humane Society and could not have existed without thier amazing volunteers. I constantly blown away by thier generosity and kindness. I look forward going again next year (and getting a booth)!




0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page